top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekimyafotovat

More Than a Bond

When it comes to music impacting people's lives in different ways, there are so many ways I could go about describing it but there's one aspect that, to me, is the most important and special thing that I've come to realize comes out of loving music: the relationships you get out of it. I never realized how powerful the simple bond of liking the same music as someone else is and how far that bond can take you until I really realized the amount of lifelong friends I now have because of it. The simplest form of this is a feeling that I can guarantee has happened to everybody: when you meet someone new and you both feel instantly closer and connected after finding out you share the same adoration of certain artists or music genres. Everybody has gone through a situation like that at least once in their lives. I used to think it stops there but I’ve kept friends that I met like that for almost ten years now.


For me, it all changed when I started becoming a huge fan of a band, One Direction, when I was 13 and I had always been fans of other bands before but they led me to realize how much the love of music can really change someone’s life incredibly. I started meeting other fans on social media and at their concerts and it became a butterfly effect from there, the friends I made would introduce me to their other fan friends and my social circle was constantly expanding. All the friendships that have stemmed for me just simply becoming a fan of One Direction all those years ago have come such a long way, the band itself hasn’t even been together for over four years now and I still have such a consistent and large circle of genuine friends I’ve met through them from all over the world and it really puts into perspective for me that these bonds go so much beyond a single band. I just came back from Los Angeles where I was visiting some of my friends and we actually had a moment where one of us brought up how crazy it is that all of us liking the same band was the reason we were together in that moment. A lot of my friends have moved in together, helped each other get jobs, traveled together, etc. and it all started because of a simple bond. I don’t think a lot of people understand just how far that bond can go. I now have so many lifelong friends that I’ve shared so many incredible experiences with all because the only thing we had in common at one point in time was music and I think that’s something that is so special.


P.S. I’m currently writing this blog post on a plane to a different country that I’ve never been to before (traveling & music is a whole other thing that I’ll get into soon) with two of my now best friends who I met because of the band because we’re going together to watch our favorite member perform at a festival. I think that’s pretty insane to think that I wouldn’t even be doing this or be sitting here on a plane with them if it wasn’t for our mutual love of the same artist. Next week’s blog will be fun. :)



Every single person in this picture traveled from somewhere else in the world (Texas, California, Australia, Chicago, etc.) to be in Las Vegas for a concert for an artist we all love and met through!

16 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page