top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekimyafotovat

Discovering New Worlds




You may have heard about how music has the power to take people places, and I believe that in more ways than one. Whether it’s taking you to an emotional place or a physical place, it’s always been something that’s been powerful enough to do that to people. One thing that's never been unheard of is the direct connection that music can have with travel, and the ability it has to literally take you to a new place you’ve never been to before.


Personally, I think I’ve gone to more concerts and festivals by now in different cities than I have in the actual city I live in, which is something I’ve come to realize is a really special and powerful influence that music can have with the fact that it has been the reason that I’ve gotten to travel to and see so many places I might not have gone to before. I’ve heard so many stories and met so many different people who have had similar experiences as me and have used journeyed to new and diverse places all because of concerts, shows, people, etc. It’s become something that I’ve found so interesting and fun that I love to wait and plan any trip I want to make to go somewhere new around a show that would be playing there by an artist or band that I like. Music becomes the motivation that I need to get myself to finally travel to a place I’ve always wanted to go to but never thought I would.


There’s also a surreal aspect to knowing that I’m not the only person who thinks this way and it’s an amazing feeling to be surrounded by people who you know traveled somewhere for the same exact reason you did. For example, this past week I flew to Spain with two of my friends who I met because we have the same favorite artist so we could see that artist perform at a festival in Madrid. We all had never been to Spain before and wouldn’t have even tried planning a trip there if we didn’t have the reasoning of going to see our favorite artist perform while also making an actual trip out of it. I’ve been on so many different trips for concerts but this was the first time I had ever gone international and something about it was so unique and different than any of the rest. I had already known of so many of my friends flying to Spain that weekend as well for the festival, some were from America, some from England, some from France, Poland, etc. While I was there, I ran into so many other fans even just on the streets of Madrid who flew from different places all around the world to see the same artist I came for. I always knew music takes people to new places but this past week put it into a bigger perspective for me and I couldn’t people how many people had traveled and shown up to a foreign country they had never been to before all for the same reason.


9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page